Trash Compactor Trap

This trap consists of several 5-foot-square trapdoors that open when a creature stands on one, dumping the victim down a 60-foot-long chute and into a 30-foot-by-30-foot trash compactor with a single locked exit in one corner. The room is filled with debris and the floor functions as difficult terrain. One round later on the trap’s initiative count, two of the walls of the room begin closing inward, reducing the width of the room by 10 feet each round (to 20 feet on the first round, and so on). On the first round, this deals 2d6 bludgeoning damage to all nonamorphous creatures in the room. The damage increases to 8d6 on the second round, and to 32d6 on the third round. On the fourth round, the trash compactor’s exit opens to release the compressed garbage. A creature can climb back up the slippery chute with a successful DC 32 Athletics check. The gears controlling the compression mechanism have EAC 14, KAC 20, hardness 20, and 69 Hit Points.

Trash Compactor Trap

CR 5

XP 1,600

Type technological; Perception DC 27; Disable Engineering DC 19 (disable compression for 1 round) or DC 25 (open exit door)

Trigger location; Init +10; Duration 7 rounds; Reset 1 minute

Initial Effect several 60-ft.-long chutes (3d6 falling damage); Reflex DC 18 avoids; multiple targets (any target in one of several 5-ft.-square areas); Secondary Effect crushing walls (30-ft.-square room compresses 10 ft. per round, 2d6 bludgeoning on first round, 8d6 bludgeoning on second round, and 32d6 bludgeoning on third round); Reflex DC 15 half; never miss; onset delay (1 round); multiple targets (all nonamorphous targets in the room)

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Starfinder Core Rulebook © 2017, Paizo Inc.; Authors: Logan Bonner, Jason Bulmahn, Amanda Hamon Kunz, Jason Keeley, Robert G. McCreary, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Mark Seifter, Owen K.C. Stephens, and James L. Sutter, with Alexander Augunas, Judy Bauer, John Compton, Adam Daigle, Crystal Frasier, Lissa Guillet, Thurston Hillman, Erik Mona, Mark Moreland, Jessica Price, F. Wesley Schneider, Amber E. Scott, and Josh Vogt.